Type your search keyword, and press enter

Nominations open for 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award


For many individuals, the road to lifetime achievement started at Virginia Western Community College.  The Virginia Western Alumni Association established the Distinguished Alumni Award in 2006 to recognize those alumni who have achieved outstanding success and made a lasting impact on their community. The award highlights the diversity of Virginia Western graduates and their impact on the community. Nominations for the 2020 award are now open.

The 2019 Distinguished Alumni honoree was Deborah L. Petrine (’74), Chair and CEO of Commonwealth Care of Roanoke and Chair of the Virginia Western Educational Foundation’s Advocacy Council forthe Virginia Western Forward Endowment Fund: A Vision of Dr. Charles W. Steger Jr.

Anne Hogan (’76), a previous honoree, serves as chairwoman of the Virginia Western Alumni Association.

Eligibility requirements:

To be eligible for nomination, the candidate must:

  • Be a graduate of or have completed a minimum of two semesters at Virginia Western Community College.
  • Have attained extraordinary distinction and success in his or her profession or life.
  • Be a person of such integrity and stature that the College will take pride in his or her recognition.
  • Have attained regional, statewide or national prominence and significant involvement in civic, cultural or charitable affairs.

How to nominate:

Anyone may nominate a Virginia Western Community College alumna/us or former student for this award by completing a nomination form. This form can be submitted at virginiawestern.edu/alumni/distinguished.php

Two letters of reference are also required.

Deadline: Nominations must be received by Feb. 28, 2020.

For more information, contact Amanda Mansfield, Philanthropy Director, Virginia Western Community College Educational Foundation, at amansfield@virginiawestern.edu or (540) 857-6962.


Register to vote before VA Super Tuesday primary

The 2020 Virginia Democratic Primary takes place March 3 as one of 14 presidential primary contests scheduled on Super Tuesday. The Virginia Primary is an open primary, wherein any registered voter can vote, regardless of party registration.

You can register to vote on campus Tuesday, Feb. 4, and Thursday, Feb. 6. The League of Women Voters of the Roanoke Valley will provide registration materials and answer your questions at a table on the third floor of Webber Hall from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. The League is a nonpartisan organization that encourages active and informed participation in government.

Learn more about registering at the Virginia Department of Elections website: https://www.elections.virginia.gov/registration/how-to-register/

Dantzler, James join Educational Foundation Board

David Dantzler and Rick James have joined the Board of Directors of the Virginia Western Community College Educational Foundation.

Dantzler is District Manager of Kroger Mid-Atlantic and a member of the Foundation’s Scholarship and Grants Committee. James is Executive Vice President of Adams Construction Company and a member Foundation’s CCAP2 Campaign Cabinet.

The volunteer Board of Directors guides the Educational Foundation’s mission of supporting student scholarships, faculty development and endowment initiatives at Virginia Western. Board members have been the driving force behind Virginia Western’s Community College Access Program (CCAP), a successful public-private partnership that provides up to three years of tuition to eligible students.