Student Services :: Advising Center

Alcohol Beverage Control Act

Virginia's Alcohol Beverage Control Act (found at the Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control) contains a variety of laws governing the possession, use, and consumption of alcoholic beverages. The Act applies to the students and employees of this institution. As required by the Federal Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act of 1989, the pertinent laws, including sanctions for their violations, are summarized below.

  1. It is unlawful for any person under age 21 to purchase or possess any alcoholic beverage. Violation of the law exposes the violator to a misdemeanor conviction for which the punishment is confinement in jail for up to twelve months and a fine up to $2,500, either or both. Additionally, such person's Virginia driver's license may be suspended for a period of not more than one year.
  2. It is unlawful for any person to sell alcoholic beverages to persons under the age of 21 years of age. Violation of the law exposes the violator to a misdemeanor conviction for which the punishment is confinement in jail for up to twelve months and a fine up to $2,500, either or both.
  3. It is unlawful for any person to purchase alcoholic beverages for another when, at the time of the purchase, he knows or has reason to know that the person for whom the alcohol is purchased is under the legal drinking age. The criminal sanction for violation of the law is the same as #2 above.
  4. It is unlawful for any person to consume alcoholic beverages in unlicensed public places. Persons violating the law, upon conviction, exposes the violator to a misdemeanor conviction for which the punishment is a fine up to $250.
VWCC

VWCC Alerts

We use VW Alert to immediately contact you during a major crisis or emergency.

Get more info and register