Campus Police

About the Department

Mission and Goals Statement

The Virginia Western Police Department continually endeavors to improve the quality of life of those we serve by developing partnership with the college community so that we can collectively and successfully address issues and concerns. We believe it is our primary goal and calling to maintain a secure campus environment with equal protection under the law. We strive to provide dedicated service for all students who attend classes as well as all persons who work, visit and reside around the Virginia Western campus.

The Virginia Western Police will at all times put forward a supreme effort to help make the College community as safe and accomodating as possible; however, there are times when violations of law occur and arrests must be made. The fine people whom make up the police force act in accordance with the Virginia Western Police Department's Mission. They are very highly dedicated, with a firm commitment to the college and the people whom make up the college community. The officers in our department are professionally trained and strive to continue this training for the betterment of the campus, the community and themselves. All department personnel are instructed in accordance with standards as mandated and established by the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services. The foundations of our mission and goals are to foster an environment that promotes safety, security, fellowship and community with all people as we represent Virginia Western Community College.

Police Staff

Chief of Police

Harris, Craig540-857-7797
Police, Security & Emergency Preparedness Chief
College Services CSB101B
charris@virginiawestern.edu

Staff

Asbury, Thomas540-857-7979
Law Enforcement Officer
College Services CSB101
tasbury@virginiawestern.edu
Burtch, Joseph540-857-6403
Law Enforcement Officer
College Services CSB101
jburtch@virginiawestern.edu
Catron, Mickey540-857-6403
Law Enforcement Officer
College Services CSB101
mwcatron@virginiawestern.edu
Gibson, Guy540-857-6479
Law Enforcement Officer
College Services CSB101
ggibson@virginiawestern.edu
King, Rodney540-857-6403
Law Enforcement Officer
College Services CSB101
rking@virginiawestern.edu
Nance, Nicole540-857-6403
Security Officer
College Services CSB101
nnance@virginiawestern.edu
Pearson, Brandon540-857-6403
Law Enforcement Officer
College Services CSB101
bpearson@virginiawestern.edu
Sink, David540-857-7979
Law Enforcement Officer
College Services CS101
dsink@virginiawestern.edu
Banner

VWCC Alerts

We use VW Alert to immediately contact you during a major crisis or emergency.

Get more info and register